Archive

Archive for September 10, 2008

Think Pink

September 10, 2008 1 comment

When I asked my long time acquaintance Sherry Steveson to contribute her talents and time to our Think Pink Campaign, she graciously agreed.   Sherry said that she had a layout that would be perfect for what we had in mind.   and it is Perfect!   Not only is the layout beautifully designed, but its touching journalling brought me to tears.

think PINK

think PINK

Journalling reads:

There was a time that if you asked me my favorite color, the last color that I would have chosen would have been pink. But this was before pink became a symbol of something that I’ve come to believe in very deeply. Pink has come to represent the Fight that a woman I would come to know as a second Mother lost. Pink is the color of the courage that another friend has managed to find. Pink represents the hope of so many Mother’s, Sisters, Daughters and friends. No longer do I see pink as a color that I’m reluctant to chose but rather a color that is a symbol for all woman to believe in. It is because I care so much about the cause of Breast Cancer Awareness that I have ran several years in a row in the Susan G. Koman Race for the Cure. It is because this cause is personal that I wear pink proudly and remind other’s to support the fight for a cure. I also believe that as I set about to join the fight, I am also doing this for my daughter so that someday she will have hope of a tomorrow free from worry and loss. I have come to THINK PINK is a symbol of honor to wear proudly.

 

Breast cancer affects our mothers, daughters, sisters, friends, and us too.  If you are part of a loved one’s support network, this post is for you.  Thanks for all that you do to help in the coping, caregiving, and healing process of survivorship.  

Thank you, Sherry, for being a part of our Think Pink campaign as we try to raise awareness for breast cancer and emphasize early detection.  Your layout is another reminder of how breast cancer touches us all.

Supplies:
Autumn Leaves patterned paper,
Junkitz flowers
Hambly Screen Print Transparency
Heidi Swapp letters
Wordsworth lettering Template, gold mesh and ribbon unknown, Krylon gold spray, Fiber,
Gold charm and frame; unknown

Sherry Steveson has been passionate about scrapbooking for over ten years. Finding a hobby that merged her love for photography with her gift of writing, all wrapped up in a creative outlet was the catalyst for a life long devotion. Her work has been published in many of the major scrapbook magazines and idea books and always brings a thrill to her family when they see their faces on the pages of those publications. She has also found her calling in the world of teaching scrapbooking to others. When she isn’t writing, scrapbooking or teaching, she has a very full schedule with her three children and husband’s landscape business. She is the author of “When Life Gives You Lemons; turning sour photos into sweet scrapbooks” and the upcoming “The Scrapbookers Embellishment Handbook”.  Please check out her blog Sassy Schtuff and the challenge blog Making Sweet Lemonade. Sherry’s class Sassy Scrap Techniques class at NYC Scraps.com begins today. It’s only $25 for the whole month and a ton of great techniques. Just the thing your mojo needs to get rolling.
Sherry’s book

Categories: Uncategorized